Three fixed-site speed cameras to begin warning period in Dayton

2-1 cameras.png

DAYTON, Ohio (WKEF/WRGT) -- Dayton police have placed three fixed-site traffic enforcement speed cameras that are ready to be activated.

Two cameras are located at the intersection of Gettysburg Avenue and Fairbanks Avenue. There is another camera at the North Main Street and Siebenthaler Avenue. Both locations will begin a 30-day warning period on Wednesday, April 11.

In addition to the three fixed-site speed cameras, a mobile speed trailer has also been placed on North Main Street near Forest Glen Avenue. The mobile speed trailer will also be activated Wednesday, but it will not have a warning period.

During the 30-day warning period for the new fixed-site cameras, the registered owner of the vehicle caught violating the speed limit will be sent a warning in the mail. After the 30-day warning period, citations will be issued by mail. Dayton police say those citations will include payment and appeal directions.

Injury crashes are down in Dayton about 15 percent from January 1 to April 9 this year compared to that same time period in 2017, according to the Dayton Police Department.

DPD recently activated two fixed-site speed cameras at North Keowee Street between East Third Street and East Fourth Street.

"Violations continue to decrease at current photo enforcement sites," Dayton Police Department said in a release. "There are fewer violations and, more importantly, motorists are using safer driving practices."

DPD says there are also preparations underway to install red light enforcement cameras at two more sites (Linden Avenue at Smithville Road and West Third Street at James H. McGee Boulevard).

close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off